Debating Calvinistic Compatibilism Part 4: Matt Responds

Derek,

I appreciate the valid attempt to define where you are coming from further. However I must be honest and ask, why? Think about it:

You think there is a fundamental difference between hard determinism and compatibilism that would allow you to somehow retain genuine free-will to engrave the other side of your paradox coin. You think compatibilism departs from determinism because it offers the view that people freely do what they desire to do. But Derek what you desire has been determined! So let me ask you a simple question that I believe can help you see why this is a fruitless endeavor:

Derek, have you ever had a thought or desire that God did not sovereignly ordain for you to have?

Please, please just answer the question with a yes or no–it’s really that simple. I’m not trying to trap you. I’m just trying to help you see that compatibilism gets you nowhere.

Lastly, I am often perplexed as to where Calvinists can conjure up the motivation to try to dislodge people from their Arminian beliefs and persuade them of the merits of Calvinism. Derek, in your view hasn’t God determined who is an Arminian–and done so irresistibly? Whence comes the incentive to argue against a belief that God sovereignly ordained?

Shalom.

About StriderMTB

Hi, I'm Matt. "Strider" from Lord of the Rings is my favorite literary character of all time and for various reasons I write under the pseudonym "StriderMTB. As my blog suggests I seek to live out both the excitement and tension of a Christian walk with Christ in the 3rd world context of Asia. I am unmarried yet blessed to oversee an orphanage of amazing children in South-East Asia. I hate lima beans and love to pour milk over my ice-cream. I try to stay active in both reading and writing and this blog is a smattering of my many thoughts. I see the Kingdom of God as Jesus preached it and lived to be the only hope for a broken world and an even more broken and apathetic church.
This entry was posted in Debating Calvinistic Compatibilism, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.