Clotting a Wound with Spiritual Platelets

BleedingHeartA few weeks ago one of the orphans at the Children’s Home I oversee, named Vantha, came down with a very severe case of dengue fever.

His case was so bad that the private clinics did not want to accept him because they saw early signs that he might not make it and they didn’t want to be held responsible. One of the signs that your case is severe is your platelet count drops quickly in the early stages of the sickness.

Platelets are important. When your body is wounded platelets clump together and form clots to stop the bleeding. When you do not have enough platelets in your blood your body cannot form clots and you can die.

After a blood test a healthy platelet range is a score between 200 – 450 (200,000 – 450,000). When your platelet count gets below 50 you are in the danger zone because you can begin to bleed internally. When your platelet count falls below 15 you need a donor to give you a platelet transfusion because your blood’s ability to clot is not possible and the risks are too great. Vantha’s count fell down to 11— but we didn’t know until 3 days after the blood test was taken (because the machine at the dirty, public “hospital” to separate the blood from plasma was broken and this information was kept from us because they knew they couldn’t do a transfusion. But that’s another story!) Despite the setbacks Vantha did pull through and he is now recovering well.

Now why I am telling you this story?

Because when you stop to think about it, our need for physical platelets and even a platelet transfusion has many spiritual applications.

Sometimes in life we get injured in some way and we begin to bleed. Maybe someone cut you deep with their words and now you are bleeding; or your your job has cut you open; or you have suffered a deep disappointment; or life itself is simply making you bleed right now. No matter what happened the reality is you are wounded and hurting.

And if your “spiritual platelets” are too low you will simply continue to bleed out because the blood can’t clot and therefore the wound can’t heal. Now the question is what would “spiritual platelets” be? What can spiritually clot the bleeding in our souls and hearts?

I think the answer could go multiple directions.

One thought is knowing our self-worth and value in the eyes of God—especially when this world tries to take it from us. When our self-worth takes a hit from this world and we feel our value bleeding out of us, we need to remember that we are highly prized by God.

Secondly I think when life wounds you in some way we need to remember the promises of God—such as his promise to redeem our sufferings and one day work them for our eventual good. Whether it is accidental tragedy or intended evil—both can become our eventual good as we place it in God’s hands. It doesn’t mean what happened was good. Neither does it mean God’s hand caused it or willed it. Rather it means God’s sovereignty has the last word in the lives of those who cling tenaciously to God’s promises rather than bitterness. As such the promises of God become our spiritual platelets. Our faith will take the promises of God and then add to them other promises– and slowly the bleeding will begin to clot.

Sometimes when the bleeding is so bad we just need to be humble enough to tell the Lord, “I can’t recover what I have lost. I need a platelet transfusion. I really need YOU to be for me what I cannot be for myself. For I don’t have it within me to clot this injury, to clot this stress, to clot this anxiety, to clot this disappointment, to clot this pain, to clot this betrayal, to clot this offense.”

I think God actually wants us to get to a place of honesty where we stop trying to find the answer to life’s problems within ourselves. In other words I think we are meant to recognize that the Christian life was designed by God in such a way that we cannot succeed without Him. 

The Bible says, “Blessed are the poor in spirit” (Mt. 5:3). That really means, “Blessed are those who are broken enough to know their need of God.”

Knowing our desperate need of God is the beginning stage for our own platelet transfusion.

There is a calm that can settle in our souls when we realize we are actually called to live in a state of dependency or a state of transfusion—in which God is pouring the life of Son into us to do for us and be for us what he knows we cannot do and cannot be for ourselves. For as Paul reminds us, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me” (Gal. 2:20).

The following are some of my personal “Platelet Promises” that I have taped to my ceiling. They are the last thing I see before going to bed and the first thing I see when I wake up. They are the bookends to my day and put my life in the context of God’s ability to work all things together for my good:

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with his love, He will rejoice over you with singing” (Zeph. 3:17).
“I am certain that I will see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be courageous and let your heart be strong. Wait for the Lord” (Psalm 27:13-14).
“God’s way is perfect; the word of the Lord is pure. He is a shield to all who take refuge in Him. For who is God besides the Lord? And who is a rock? Only our God—He clothes me with strength and makes my way perfect” (Psalm 18:30-32).
“Do not remember the past events, pay no attention to the former things. Look—I am about to do something new; even now it is coming. Do you not see it? Indeed, I will make a way in the wilderness, rivers in the desert” (Isaiah 43:18-19).
“Happy are the people whose strength is in you, whose hearts are set on pilgrimage. As they pass through the valley of weeping, they make it a source of spring water… they go from strength to strength, each appears before God” (Psalm 84:5-7).

Those are my “Platelet Promises.” What are yours? I encourage you to search the Scriptures and ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to you specific promises he wants you to absorb into the wounds and sorrow of your own soul. Write them out. Tape them on the ceiling above your bed. Start and end your day with them.

In the upcoming post I want to explore how Jesus is a model—not just for our times of joy but also our times of great sorrow.

 

About StriderMTB

Hi, I'm Matt. "Strider" from Lord of the Rings is my favorite literary character of all time and for various reasons I write under the pseudonym "StriderMTB. As my blog suggests I seek to live out both the excitement and tension of a Christian walk with Christ in the 3rd world context of Asia. I am unmarried yet blessed to oversee an orphanage of amazing children in South-East Asia. I hate lima beans and love to pour milk over my ice-cream. I try to stay active in both reading and writing and this blog is a smattering of my many thoughts. I see the Kingdom of God as Jesus preached it and lived to be the only hope for a broken world and an even more broken and apathetic church.
This entry was posted in Devotion Life, Thought of the day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clotting a Wound with Spiritual Platelets

  1. Pingback: Looking at Gethsemane Anew: The Fall and Rise of Jesus | A Theology in Tension

  2. Joe says:

    Hi Matt! I loved this article/blog! It is my second such writing of yours that I have read so far. I first read your blog about Francis Chan being the “gateway drug” for the hyper-calvinists! That was so hilarious and poignant at the same time! My fave verse is Zeph. 3:17. Hope you continue your ministry well knowing that there are people like me, whom you have never seen, praying for you and looking forward to meeting you, if not on this side then the other side with Jesus!

Leave a Reply

